The History of Addenbrookes Hospital
by Val Orange
Hilary Ritchie, the Archivist of Addenbrooke’s Hospital was the speaker this month and she gave us a fascinating insight into the history of this great institution.
When Dr John Addenbrooke died in 1719 at the age of 39, he had no children and his wife died soon after him. He left a sum of money to build a hospital for everyone, including the poor, in Cambridge and the surrounding district. When it opened in 1766 in a house in Hills Road there were 20 beds, 11 patients, 3 surgeons and 3 physicians.
Leeches, maggots and honey as an antiseptic were all used in 1766 in the hospital and still are today.
As we all know, the hospital has expanded and moved, and continues to be the flagship teaching hospital of the area.
At the Spring Fair on Saturday 8th April £460 was raised to keep our hall going – a marvellous sum and a very enjoyable afternoon.